OpenELEC Forum
'No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: 'No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller (/showthread.php?tid=16198)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - Mettbrot - 11-10-2011

Hi there,

i've asked on several older threads now and i thought maybe it's time to open an own one for this:

After installing openELEC on my Zotac GF9300-K-E board with nForce Chipset, i was glad that the new Geforce driver finally helped to get the installer working.
Now I have no sound over HDMI on the machine. Things I have tried so far:

aplay -l:
Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

  • setting sound settings to
    Code:
    HDMI
    custom
    plughw:0,3
    custom
    plughw:0,3
  • setting up /storage/.config/asound.conf with
    Code:
    pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave {
    pcm "plughw:0,3"
    rate 48000
    }
    }

The machine is connected to an Onkyo TX-NR-609 AV-Receiver via HDMI.

Thanks for your support!


Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - Mettbrot - 11-14-2011

Has anyone an idea to this?
On Ubuntu, i used this guide from the XBMC Wiki. Is there a way to use the tweaks of it for openelec?


Re: Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - ZC3rr0r - 11-14-2011

Sadly I have similar issues, though I did get HDMI passthrough working by setting up a custom device with the following settings: "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1" under both the Audio output and the Passthrough output settings.

My aplay -l looks like this:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

My aplay -L looks like this:

null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output

And my asound.conf is configured as follows:

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm "hw:0,7"
rate 48000
}
}

Since I get output using DEV=1 I am assuming "card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]" is the card to use (it has always been under my XBMC Ubuntu minimal install).
Anything I can do to get menu sounds working properly?


Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - Mettbrot - 11-15-2011

Hey, I just tried it with hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0 according to aplay -L the only HDMI device (rest is ALC... something) but it does not work...
Any other ideas?


Re: Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - therio - 11-15-2011

ZC3rr0r post=16631 Wrote:Sadly I have similar issues, though I did get HDMI passthrough working by setting up a custom device with the following settings: "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1" under both the Audio output and the Passthrough output settings.

My aplay -l looks like this:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

My aplay -L looks like this:

null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output

And my asound.conf is configured as follows:

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm "hw:0,7"
rate 48000
}
}

Since I get output using DEV=1 I am assuming "card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]" is the card to use (it has always been under my XBMC Ubuntu minimal install).
Anything I can do to get menu sounds working properly?


For the asound.conf, try this:

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1"
rate 48000
}
}

Just a guess, but if it works for your XBMC setting, it could also work for your asound setting Wink


Re: Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - therio - 11-15-2011

@Mettbrot: Is there any option inside your BIOS that enables onboard sound or sound over HDMI?


Re: Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - ZC3rr0r - 11-15-2011

Is that a supported setting?
Because as far as I can remember you need to fill out only de devhw numbers there (so it ought to be 0,7 afaik).

I'll give it a whirl later today when I get home though.
Will get back to you on this Smile


Re: Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - therio - 11-15-2011

@ZC3rr0r: there are many possibilities for this file, "hw:x,x" is an option, but "hdmi" can also be used.


Re: Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - ZC3rr0r - 11-15-2011

therio post=16714 Wrote:@ZC3rr0r: there are many possibilities for this file, "hw:x,x" is an option, but "hdmi" can also be used.

Good to know, I'll try this asap Smile


Aw: No Sound over HDMI with nVidia nForce Controller - Mettbrot - 11-15-2011

Hi therio

the only thing i can find is under Souzthbridge Configuration:

there is an option for AZALIA AUDIO where i can choose between:
Disabled
Internal + external Codec (selected)
Internal COdec
External Codec

The description is:
Internal codec is included in chipset it is for HDMI AUDIO function
External codec is a onboard codec ex. ALC885...

WHat should i choose?