OpenELEC Forum
Boot PXE ISCSI without seperate DHCP/TFTP - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: NETWORK (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=49)
+---- Forum: PXE / Network boot (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=50)
+---- Thread: Boot PXE ISCSI without seperate DHCP/TFTP (/showthread.php?tid=31045)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7


Boot PXE ISCSI without seperate DHCP/TFTP - Muggi - 04-14-2012

Hi at all,


i want to boot from ISCSI Target and followed the WIKI-Link


I sucsessfull build a ISCSI LUN and Target, formated ist, and install openelec on it.
Access from my ubuntu pc is no problem.

I decide tu use the non DHCP/TFTP option with ipxe.


But when i want to boot from the ipxe.rom usb-drive ....

there comes a little ipxe - promt (initializing devices....ok etc.)
and the nothing happens......



Maybe someone can help my. I want to use pxe without a seperate dhcp server as possible.

or someone can advice me to make a pxe system with this hardware.....
synology Dsikstation(fileserver), Fritzbox 3370 (Router+DHcp) and 3 Htpc´s


thanks


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - KillerKelvUK - 04-14-2012

Only way to do this without using DHCP with Boot File parameters would be to produce an iPXE script which manually assigned a valid IP address (not even sure iPXE supports this) to the client and initiated the iSCSI connection from there.

Have a read of this for scripting with iPXE.

:unsure:

However if you have a Synology Diskstation doesnt that have DHCP and PXE?? Quick search led me to this...http://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=42278


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - Muggi - 04-14-2012

hi,

i use ipxe like in the OE wiki:

here is my script:


Code:
#!ipxe
:retry_dhcp
dhcp || goto retry_dhcp
echo Ready for iscsi boot !
:retry_sanboot
sanboot iscsi:192.168.1.137::::iqn.2000-01.com.synology:diskstation.oe || goto retry_sanboot



The IP is from my NAS and the iqn is valid. I dont use authentication.
From Ubuntu i can loggin the iscsi and mount without problems.

But when i boot from usb, the ipxe prompts the standard message but the "echo" messages arent shown on the screen. I dont find any log. On the NAS i can see,noone is connected to the iscsi TARGET.


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - KillerKelvUK - 04-14-2012

So you are using DHCP but without the need for network PXE resources as your HTPC's are booting from a USB drive and loading the iPXE environment from that?

If I've understood correctly then have you tried to remove the iPXE script and interven on iPXE's boot process with a CTRL-B to access the command prompt? What happens when you type the script commands in manually?


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - Muggi - 04-14-2012

Hi

i only follow the "lazy way" from the bottom of this wiki entry...

link


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - KillerKelvUK - 04-14-2012

Smile Have a read here to understand how you can get to an iPXE command line...pretty simple. At the command line enter the following 2 commands in this order...

Code:
dhcp
sanboot iscsi:192.168.1.137::::iqn.2000-01.com.synology:diskstation.oe

Post back the confirmations messages that are returned after you enter each command.

If everything is a success from iPXE's perspecitive i.e. it successfully acquires an IP address and lanches the iSCSI connection then I'd say your problem is with your config on the iSCSI disk.


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - Muggi - 04-14-2012

Hi,

if i boot form the sub drive this shows up:

Code:
iPXE initialising devices...ok


iPXE -- Open Source Network Boot Firmware -- http://ipxe.org
Features: HTTP iSCSI DNS TFTP AoE FCoE TFTP COMBOOT ELF PXE PXEXT

The option"Press Ctrl-B for the iPXE command line..." dont shown up!


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - KillerKelvUK - 04-14-2012

Suspected that being honest, its because you compiled iPXE with a specified script to be embedded. You'll need to use a basic USB compile with no embedded script so you can get to the command line that way.


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - Muggi - 04-14-2012

ah....


i compile pxe without embed option.
in commandline the dhcp command goes throught without errors.

but the iscsi target can´t be connected... but why????


Re: Boot ISCSI without DHCP - KillerKelvUK - 04-14-2012

Muggi post=31067 Wrote:ah....


i compile pxe without embed option.
in commandline the dhcp command goes throught without errors.

but the iscsi target can´t be connected... but why????

What was the error message on the sanboot?