OpenELEC Forum
No Audio HDMI ATI - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: No Audio HDMI ATI (/showthread.php?tid=37887)

Pages: 1 2 3


No Audio HDMI ATI - cnewton2k - 06-18-2012

Having spent quite a while reading i now understand that i will not be able to bitstream HD audio to my reciver with my ATI gfdx card.

At present i get no audio at all.

Do i need to manually install some drivers?

I have a ATI 6450 can anyone give me any suggestions on what to do?

Cheers


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - thelamer - 06-19-2012

You are going to have to set a custom audio device, IE plughw0,1-9.

1337 way to do it:

ssh into the box and run:

aplay -l

you should see an output like this:

Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Then you need to play a file to see which device outputs audio for you:

download a test file (google for front_center.wav you will find it)

Put this somewhere on your HTPC and run the following test: (from ssh)

aplay -D plughw:0,3 /path/to/your/Front_Center.wav

Non 1337 way to do it:

Take a shot in the dark and set your audio devices to plughw0,1-9. Set them try to play something then move onto the next one.

If you run into a wall please post the output of aplay -l from ssh.


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - lrusak - 06-19-2012

thelamer post=37894 Wrote:aplay -D plughw:0,3 /path/to/your/Front_Center.wav

Thanks for the great tip!

PS: whats 1337?


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - cnewton2k - 06-19-2012

Right that is great thanks Smile

Is there anyway to get open elec to decode the hd stream and the output lpcm?

Cheers


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - cnewton2k - 06-20-2012

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

this is what i have when i run that command

do i need to install drivers?


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - lrusak - 06-20-2012

did you try plughw:0,3 ??


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - cnewton2k - 06-21-2012

i dont understand what that is?

Do i type that in when it comes to custom audio device?

Cheers


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - thelamer - 06-21-2012

cnewton2k post=38211 Wrote:i dont understand what that is?

Do i type that in when it comes to custom audio device?

Cheers

Correct, select custom for both devices and manually enter:

plughw:0,3


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - lrusak - 06-21-2012

Yes


Re: No Audio HDMI ATI - ashaheen - 06-22-2012

it is working perfect many thanks but one issue i can not use volume up and down and one more small issue if we forward of pause sound will flick alot of time