OpenELEC Forum
Need 5.1 - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: Need 5.1 (/showthread.php?tid=4067)

Pages: 1 2


Need 5.1 - Traffic00 - 03-13-2011

I have a Zotac ZBOX HD-ID11-U Intel Atom D510 and I am feeding the tv with the HDMI output and from there I am feeding a Sony 5.1 receiver. (The Somy does not have HDMI inputs)

If I load the ZBox with XBMC 10.1 Windows version, I get sound on the tv and 5.1 pass through to the Sony.

If I load OpenElec Ion on the ZBox, I get sound on the TV and it passes on to the Sony but not 5.1

I guess that it is the problem with my asound.conf file.

Can someone give me the right file for this to work


My asound is as follows...............


pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm both
}
}

pcm.both {
type route
slave {
pcm multi
channels 4
}
ttable.0.0 1.0
ttable.1.1 1.0
ttable.0.2 1.0
ttable.1.3 1.0
}

pcm.multi {
type multi
slaves.a {
pcm tv
channels 2
}
slaves.b {
pcm receiver
channels 2
}
bindings.0.slave a
bindings.0.channel 0
bindings.1.slave a
bindings.1.channel 1
bindings.2.slave b
bindings.2.channel 0
bindings.3.slave b
bindings.3.channel 1
}

pcm.receiver {
type hw
card 0
device 0
channels 2
}

pcm.tv {
type hw
card 1
device 7
channels 2
}


Re: Need 5.1 - therio - 03-13-2011

Hi Traffic,

could you also post your settings from within XBMC for audio?


Re: Need 5.1 - Traffic00 - 03-13-2011

HDMI
5.1
Boost Check
AC3 Check
DTS Check
Custom
PCM.both
Custom
PCM.both


Re: Need 5.1 - Traffic00 - 03-13-2011

If this helps

Linix is greek to me


aplay --list-devices
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


......................................................................

aplay -L
null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC888 Analog
Front speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC888 Analog
4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC888 Analog
4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC888 Analog
5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC888 Analog
5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC888 Analog
7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC888 Digital
IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
root ~ #


Re: Need 5.1 - Traffic00 - 03-14-2011

HDMI
5.1
Boost Check
AC3 Check
DTS Check
Custom
PCM.both
Custom
PCM.both


Re: Need 5.1 - therio - 03-14-2011

Try this asound.conf

Code:
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm both
}
}

pcm.both {
type route
slave {
pcm multi
channels 4
}
ttable.0.0 1.0
ttable.1.1 1.0
ttable.0.2 1.0
ttable.1.3 1.0
}

pcm.multi {
type multi
slaves.a {
pcm tv
channels 2
}
slaves.b {
pcm receiver
channels 2
}
bindings.0.slave a
bindings.0.channel 0
bindings.1.slave a
bindings.1.channel 1
bindings.2.slave b
bindings.2.channel 0
bindings.3.slave b
bindings.3.channel 1
}

pcm.receiver {
type hw
card 0
device 0
channels 2
}

pcm.tv {
type hw
card 0
device 1
channels 2
}

And then inside Xbmc:

Analog

Custom
Pcm.tv

Custom
Pcm.tv


Re: Need 5.1 - Traffic00 - 03-14-2011

Failed to initialize audio device

By using analog the pass through is grayed out, so I cannot make an entry there.


Re: Need 5.1 - therio - 03-14-2011

Ok, another guess

Use the asound.conf as you posted in the first message:

Code:
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm both
}
}

pcm.both {
type route
slave {
pcm multi
channels 4
}
ttable.0.0 1.0
ttable.1.1 1.0
ttable.0.2 1.0
ttable.1.3 1.0
}

pcm.multi {
type multi
slaves.a {
pcm tv
channels 2
}
slaves.b {
pcm receiver
channels 2
}
bindings.0.slave a
bindings.0.channel 0
bindings.1.slave a
bindings.1.channel 1
bindings.2.slave b
bindings.2.channel 0
bindings.3.slave b
bindings.3.channel 1
}

pcm.receiver {
type hw
card 0
device 0
channels 2
}

pcm.tv {
type hw
card 1
device 7
channels 2
}

I think if we point to pcm.multi, it could make a difference. So inside XBMC, use the following setup:

Output = HDMI

Default output device = custom
"pcm.multi"

Default pasthrough device = custom
"pcm.multi"

I guess this works because the multi part in the asound.conf shows TV and Receiver.


Re: Need 5.1 - Traffic00 - 03-15-2011

Failed to initialize audio device


Re: Need 5.1 - therio - 03-15-2011

Ok, them delete the asound.conf and use the configuration as mentioned here:
http://openelec.tv/find-help/documentation/howtos/item/sound-over-hdmi-on-zbox-hd-id11