OpenELEC Forum
' Re: Aw: Re: Aw: Re: Aw: Re: Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: ' Re: Aw: Re: Aw: Re: Aw: Re: Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough (/showthread.php?tid=5092)

Pages: 1 2 3


DTS-HD Passthrough - johncord - 04-05-2011

Hi

I recently installed Openelec to my Sapphire Edge HD an got HDMI Sound working with the custom Device "plughw:1,9".

Right now i wanted to play a .m2ts file with a DTS-HD Audio track. The problem is that XBMC only passes the DTS Core Stream to my AV-Reveive and not a 7.1 LPCM Stream. I realised this becaus my AV-Receiver shows "DTS" on its Display and not "PCM"...

Ok, i tested a little more and realised that dts-hd master audio is recognized as DTS by my receiver. My new problem is if i want to play a dolby true hd file i only get 2.0 PCM to my receiver...

EDIT: Ok, the problem was that i used the shuttle asound.conf file... with custom setting "plughw:1,9" Dolby True HD gets as 5.1 PCM Stream to my Receiver. The problem with DTS-HD recognised as DTS is still present.


Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - therio - 04-06-2011

Dts-hd -> dts, this could be that it is downgraded by OpenELEC. What are your settings inside XBMC?


Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - johncord - 04-06-2011

Do you mean the Audio-Hardware Settings? There i have:

Audio Output: HDMI
Speaker Configuration: 5.1
Dolby Digital (AC3) capable receiver: Yes
DTS Capable Receiver: Yes
Auio Output Device: Custom
Custom Audio Device: plughw:1,9
Passthrough output device: custom
Custom passthrough device: plughw:1,9

On the XBMC Board there are various posts that its possible to stream DTS-HD as Multichannel LPCM to a Receiver...


Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - therio - 04-06-2011

I think you still need an asound.conf file or something, to direct the stream on the correct way. I have a XS35GT and a capable receiver, and DTS-HD streams the correct way.

Found this asound.conf setup on the internet:

defaults.ctl.card NVidia
defaults.pcm.card NVidia
defaults.pcm.device 9

You could try to add this and see if it makes any changes.


Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - johncord - 04-06-2011

The shuttle has a g210 igp, the sapphire a gt218... Maybe this is the problem?

Will try the asound.conf when im home... Thank you!


Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - johncord - 04-06-2011

Tried the settings. Menue sound works now. But DTS-HD did not get passed as LPCM...

Maybe its my AVR that shows DTS instead of PCM on the Display. Can you download http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/redirect-high-definition.php?file=hd_dts_sfx_long_lossless.rar and test this on your machine? Especially if you AV Receiver shows DTS or PCM on the Display!


Re: Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - therio - 04-06-2011

The testfile you linked give me DTS signs by the receiver. Trying some other files now from a special test disc to see what will happen.


Re: Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - therio - 04-06-2011

All test videos are shown correct on my receiver from OpenELEC, only DTS-Master Audio is send as normal DTS. DTS-HD is showing DTS-HD. Will upload the testfiles tonight so you can test them also. The linked file from you shows DTS, but sounds perfect.
Only sidenote that I would like to share is, that DTS-HD needs some buffering. Probably ofnthe large amount of info streamed over the network.


Aw: Re: Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - johncord - 04-06-2011

I didnt know that there is a difference between DTS-HD and DTS-HD Master Audio...


Re: Aw: Re: Aw: Re: DTS-HD Passthrough - therio - 04-06-2011

DTS itself gives you the answer:
http://www.dts.com/DTS_Audio_Formats/DTS-HD_High_Resolution_Audio.aspx

But almost the same, you must have trained ears to hear the difference.