OpenELEC Forum
No Audio on OpenELEC v2 and aplay -l "No Soundcards Found" - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: No Audio on OpenELEC v2 and aplay -l "No Soundcards Found" (/showthread.php?tid=51622)

No Audio on OpenELEC v2 and aplay -l "No Soundcards Found" - andrew510 - 10-27-2012

Hey Everybody:

I've been using OpenELEC for a while now, it's a fantastic OS!!, but this is my first time on the forum.

I recently upgraded a system to OpenELEC 2.0.0 so as to integrate a system into a new PVR Setup. OpenELEC is working perfectly, however, there is no audio output at all!

I've spent the last few hours googling, with no success so far! I have tried various options under Custom in the XBMC Settings and have tried switching between Analogue and HDMI. As it stands at the moment, there has been absolutely no audio output. The card is listed under Lspci as "00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)", however, aplay -l shows no Soundcards.

I hope someone can help as I'm totally stomped with this!

Thanks in advance! :-)

Andrew

Re: No Audio on OpenELEC v2 and aplay -l "No Soundcards Found" - Sjonnie - 10-28-2012

Hi Andrew,

Sometimes you need a file called asound.conf to get things working. Can you tell us more about your hardware to see if we can find a asound.conf that works.

Do you have a back-up from a previous version. Reading your post I figure you have had sound previously. Can you compare the systems? Did you make changes to files and are you able to copy these files to your new install?