OpenELEC Forum
Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 (/showthread.php?tid=55318)



Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 - seer_tenedos - 11-28-2012

I have been running dev builds for a while due to need Hi10 support for Anime in XBMC 12. This has worked great but when i upgraded to 3.0 beta 1 today all sound stopped working. HDMI no longer works and i can't get optical to work either.

In the XBMC log i notice there is this error
Code:
ERROR: CAESinkOSS::EnumerateDevicesEx - Failed to open mixer: /dev/mixer
Can anyone point me in the right direction? I also attached all my logs in case anyone wants more info.

The last know working build before the beta that i have used was
OpenELEC-Generic.i386-devel-20121117111333-r12493


Re: Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 - bibi - 11-28-2012

Maybe check the audio settings.

With beta build i have now 2 different output :
- nvidia hdmi (select by default which doenst work)
- nvidia hdmi / sony 40v4000 (which works)


Re: Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 - seer_tenedos - 11-28-2012

Thanks for the suggestion but sadly that is not it. I only get one hdmi option and it does not work no matter the combinations of sound formats i turn on and off. spent 2-3 hours trying everything under audio and chaining my amp to match nothing worked. Did not try analog as i don't have the connection for that but tried everything else and even tried latest dev image with no luck.

downgraded to the build above an all works fine again and that is an XBMC 12 build just an earlier one. It could be a setting but i suspect it has something to do with a bug in the general image introduced some point after the build that i listed as working. I would prefer to try everything and get peoples suggestions before i list it as a bug especially in case i have done something stupid in a config or something. Even tried a fresh install as well as an upgrade install to see if that fixed it.

Only other thing to note is i have 2 nvidia graphics cards. one on board which i use for everything and one silent one in pcie but that does not seem to do audio over hdmi so i use the onboard one.


Re: Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 - gggie - 11-28-2012

I and others have experienced the same problem:
http://openelec.tv/forum/68-audio/55288-oe-3-beta-1-upgrade-from-oe-frodo-alpha-audio-not-working


Re: Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 - lrusak - 11-28-2012

try this, http://openelec.tv/forum/68-audio/55288-oe-3-beta-1-upgrade-from-oe-frodo-alpha-audio-not-working#55374


Re: Openelec 3.0 beta 1 - No sound but dev builds worked before beta 1 - seer_tenedos - 11-29-2012

sorry openelec.tv/forum/68-audio/55288-oe-3-be...io-not-working#55374 did not seem to work. it only seemed to restart my UI and i reboot between setting changes.