OpenELEC Forum
Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) (/showthread.php?tid=56674)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - slainemcr - 12-08-2012

Hi, I'm newbie in openelec and need help with audio configuration. I would like to get sound from hdmi (Tv) and coax (esi juli -> D/A CA Dacmagic) simultaneously. I tried to configure asound.conf which i take into /configfiles but nothing happened.

aplay -l:

card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 3: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Juli [ESI Juli@], device 0: ICE1724 [ICE1724]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Juli [ESI Juli@], device 1: ICE1724 IEC958 [ICE1724 IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
my asoud.conf:

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm "both"
}
}

pcm.both {
type route
slave {
pcm multi
channels 4
}
ttable.0.0 1.0
ttable.1.1 1.0
ttable.0.2 1.0
ttable.1.3 1.0
}

pcm.multi {
type multi
slaves.a {
pcm "hdmi_hw"
channels 2
}
slaves.b {
pcm "digital_hw"
channels 2
}
bindings.0.slave a
bindings.0.channel 0
bindings.1.slave a
bindings.1.channel 1
bindings.2.slave b
bindings.2.channel 0
bindings.3.slave b
bindings.3.channel 1
}

pcm.hdmi_hw {
type dmix
ipc_key 1000
slave {
pcm "hw:0,3"
period_time 0
period_size 512
buffer_size 2048
}
}

pcm.hdmi_formatted {
type plug
slave {
pcm hdmi_hw
rate 48000
channels 2
}
}

pcm.hdmi_complete {
type softvol
slave.pcm hdmi_formatted
control.name hdmi_volume
control.card 1
}

pcm.digital_hw {
type dmix
ipc_key 1001
slave {
pcm "hw:1,1"
period_time 0
period_size 512
buffer_size 2048
}
}
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Many thanx for every and sorry for my english.


Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - lrusak - 12-08-2012

Not possible with frodo


Re: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - unicron1980 - 12-08-2012

Does OpenELEC 3 ignore the asound.conf file? If so, why are the examples still available in the ConfigFiles folder?

Or is the asound.conf file loaded but does XBMC filter out the virtual devices?

From a hardware perspective it is not impossible to have dual audio, see Eden. Perhaps if you would elaborate a little bit more people are more understanding and possibly a patch could be written to satisfy the people that want dual audio.


Re: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - Yohan - 12-09-2012

+1

I also want to use XBMC with dual audio (HDMI+optical)


Re: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - slainemcr - 12-09-2012

So as I understoot asound.conf is the bad way. Is there another way?


Re: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - lem - 12-09-2012

You can patch Eden to do this -> http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=86038
but not Frodo yet.

I believe there were some Dual Audio Eden builds posted on this forum.


Re: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - slainemcr - 12-10-2012

Yes I know, bud need some solution for Frodo.


Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - lrusak - 12-10-2012

You are better off asking over at xbmc


Re: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - slainemcr - 12-13-2012

Is there any choice to automatic switching among audio outputs based on what I´m watching/listening - music files - digital out, tvshows - HDMI....? Thanx for reply.


Re: Dual audio on frodo (OE 3.0) HDMI + Coax (internal soundcard) - lrusak - 12-13-2012

slainemcr post=57284 Wrote:Is there any choice to automatic switching among audio outputs based on what I´m watching/listening - music files - digital out, tvshows - HDMI....? Thanx for reply.
not at this time.

I would like them to add changing audio device as an action so it can be programmed to a key press on your remote. This may happen in the next cycle.