OpenELEC Forum
SH bad number "illegal instruction" - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: INSTALLATION (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Thread: SH bad number "illegal instruction" (/showthread.php?tid=73291)

Pages: 1 2


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - hugo - 10-10-2014

Hello All you wonderful openelecers..

I have an older system that I am trying to boot the generic build on. I've googled this problem but cant seem to come up with anything relevant to help me on this issue.

The specs are AMD Athlon XP 2400+
Nforce 2 chipset
1gb Ram
Nvidia Quadro FX 128mb DDR or Nvidia Geforce MX4000-t128

I get an error with every single version of openelec I try to boot. That error is

SH: Bad Number
Illegal instructions
Illegal instructions
Illegal instructions

I believe based on some other searches that this error has to do with AMD systems but I have seen some intel systems also have this error in linux but not necessarily openelec. Is there a bios change I can make or other alteration to the usb I can make to get it to boot? I am thinking of trying to manually install but still would like to know why the USB fails to boot like this. THANKS in advance for your help!


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - lrusak - 10-10-2014

Your hardware is so old.

You didn't say what build you are using, I recommend using Generic-i386. If this doesn't work, there is no hope
http://releases.openelec.tv/OpenELEC-Generic.i386-4.2.1.tar


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - hugo - 10-10-2014

Irusak.. I'm using the i386 build yes.

Is it the graphics card? I've swapped it with a couple of ATI cards and its the same issue. I hate to hear your hardware is to old without some sort of details as to what could be the problem. I have a feeling this has to do with the USB boot option in the bios and if I was to boot from a CD rom it would work but booting openelec from a CD is impossible as far as I know. Is there another way to boot openelecs installer? I've tried booting with Plop Boot Manager but it does not get any further, it actually does not even get as far as using the bios does.

Are there alternative boot options for openelec?

I have a bios update available but need to install windows to do it. Do you think that will make a difference?


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - lrusak - 10-10-2014

You can try and do a manual install onto a usb stick or Hard drive directly

http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php/Live_Boot_%26_Manual_Installation

I don't have a problem with old hardware. It's just that with such old GPU's you really won't be able to play much.


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - seo - 10-10-2014

Athlon XP 2400+ does not have sse2 instruction set. sse2 is required to run openelec. as said already, your hardware is too old.


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - chewitt - 10-10-2014

"bad number" is normally something kernel related.. i.e. CPU doesn't support the kernel.


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - seo - 10-10-2014

it means exactly what I said above.

EDIT: our kernels are "generic". userspace is compiled with -msse2. he has no problem booting kernel.he has problem booting further (likely early in initramfs). it doesnt matter anyway as the hardware is clearly not supported.


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - hugo - 10-13-2014

seo post=119733 Wrote:Athlon XP 2400+ does not have sse2 instruction set. sse2 is required to run openelec. as said already, your hardware is too old.

chewitt post=119737 Wrote:"bad number" is normally something kernel related.. i.e. CPU doesn't support the kernel.

This is what I wanted to know. THANK YOU GUYS!!! Love when you guys explain why it wont work. Helps a lot!!!
SSE2 is important in hackintoshing also & I tried that already without success. I found another use for the box. It will run XP slim install + XBMC.. I know that will be slow but its better then nothing.. The PC was never really going to be used as a primary XBMC machine anyway..


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - lrusak - 10-13-2014

Or you could use it for pfsense, or a linux server. You aren't going to have much luck with XBMC on that video hardware. Even with Windows XP, which XBMC 13 doesn't support.


SH bad number "illegal instruction" - hugo - 10-13-2014

lrusak post=119949 Wrote:Or you could use it for pfsense, or a linux server. You aren't going to have much luck with XBMC on that video hardware. Even with Windows XP, which XBMC 13 doesn't support.

I know it wont be doing any HD content at all. I have the original xbox also running with xbmc 3.5 which is the equivalent of frodo. The xbox is far behind this machine as far as ram so I bet it will be about the same as the xbox which is ok.