OpenELEC Forum
Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: 3RD PARTY (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+---- Forum: Addons (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+---- Thread: Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime (/showthread.php?tid=77591)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - marv - 07-20-2015

After some requests i made a guide to seamlessly integrate Netflix and Amazon Prime Instant Video (both HTML5) on X86_64 machines. ARMs are not supported!

1a) You can either install chromium from the unofficial openelec repo (and install widevine in the settings!)
OR
1b) Download the Chromium Browser (thanks to chemstar!) and install it from
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7rwud8jv5xu85ga/AAB0GGVyZo63ki9ZiYiEjlxOa?dl=0
Download widevine to play HTML5 DRM content. You'll find it in the chrome browser package, download here (you need the linux version. I was using 64bit deb.):
https://www.google.de/chrome/browser/desktop/
Extract it with 7zip for example and copy widevine (libwidevinecdm.so) into .kodi/addons/browser.chromium/bin/

2) Download and install my addon to control chromium by remote. It's predefined for netflix, amazon prime:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i9omugmnocn5l51/script.chromium_remotecontrol.1.5.zip?dl=0

CONFIGURATION

1) Chromium: Go to the addon settings and disable ASH ("Use ASH Desktop"), if it's available.

If you don't have sound using chromium go to the addon settings -> A/V and set your custom audio device in this format: "hw:<cardnumber>,<devicenumber>", for example "hw:1,0"
(ssh into your box and type "aplay -l" to find the correct devices/cards.)

3) Remote Control should work "out of the box" if you start netflix or amazon. To jump forward and backward press Right and Left. Up and Down or Volup/Voldown will control the volume. Stop will close chromium.
Unfortunately the only way to change subtitles and/or audio language is to use the mouse. There's no keyboard shortcut to use. BUT you can enable the mouse by pressing the Info Button. It toggles mouse control on/off (Left, Right, Up, Down and OK for left mouseclick).
If you want to change the Keys go to the addon settings.

INSTALL NETFLIX AND AMAZON PRIME INSTANT VIDEO

NETFLIX:
1) Install flix2kodi, which can be found here: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=254263. all support concerning the netflix addon can be found there.
2) Install from alelec's repo the chrome launcher addon and in the settings chose the script '/storage/.kodi/addons/script.chromium_remotecontrol/chromium.sh'
3) in the flix2kodi settings chose "chromelauncher" as browser

AMAZON PRIME INSTANT VIDEO

1) I am using Sandmann's amazon (test) video addon. Download his repo here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8ywnn7u78izvrrb/repository.sandmann79.plugins.zip?dl=0
In the settings you can choose "batch/script" and point to the script '/storage/.kodi/addons/script.chromium_remotecontrol/chromium.sh'. As parameter define '{u}' only. After first launch of a video log into the website and allow fullscreen. After that it should work automatically.


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - klojum - 07-21-2015

Thanks for the tutorial. I'm sure it will be useful for people. For the record, OpenELEC cannot do official support on this, or be held responsible for its workings since there are several external file and repository links to unknown files in your post.

Just wondering... Which Nvidia graphics card did you use first, and which ATI graphics card are you using now? Because ATI/AMD GPU support has not been that good the last couple of years in Linux in general where as Nvidia has been the more stable one.


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - nickr - 07-21-2015

We hear what you say Klojum, but it is nevertheless nice to get this howto. Thanks Marv.

I have a wiki account if you want this on the openelec wiki.


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - seo - 07-21-2015

nickr post=144008 Wrote:We hear what you say Klojum, but it is nevertheless nice to get this howto. Thanks Marv.

I have a wiki account if you want this on the openelec wiki.

does not belong to OE wiki.


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - marv - 07-21-2015

see this thread, latest posts:
http://openelec.tv/forum/110-update-openelec/77306-nvidia-legacy-64-bit-build-for-helix-not-available#143184


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - klojum - 07-21-2015

marv post=144020 Wrote:see this thread, latest posts:
http://openelec.tv/forum/110-update-openelec/77306-nvidia-legacy-64-bit-build-for-helix-not-available#143184
a nvidia 8300 graphic card... :blink:

8400GS might have worked, more recent Nvidia's should certainly work too. But, fine. AMD works for you. Smile


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - marv - 07-21-2015

the 8300 card did his job very well for xbmc/kodi ;-)
yeah, it was the legacy build. i just wanted to mention my experience to avoid hours of research and investigation (like i did).


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - ian-ep - 07-21-2015

For those having trouble getting audio to work in Chromium, try the alternative device name syntax rather than 'hw:<card>,<device>'. I use a USB DAC which appears as C2 device 0 with aplay -l. However using 'hw:2,0' doesn't work in Chromium. Using 'aplay -L' (capital L) I can see the various device names. Using 'default:CARD=C2' in the Chromium settings and sound magically works!

Can't seem to get the remote to work in Cromium, however. Could the fact I'm using a flirc with a Logitec Harmony remote have anything to do with it?

Cheers
Ian


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - marv - 07-21-2015

did you start chromium from netflixbmc/amazon addon? remote only activates when chromium runs AND the current kodi path contains netflix or amazon. also works when launching websites from chrome launcher.


Chromium (HTML5): Guide for Netflix / Amazon Prime - ian-ep - 07-21-2015

Marv,

Remote doesn't appear to work from either Netflixbmc or Chrome Launcher. Not sure what you mean by the current path containing Netflix or Amazon. How do I see if that is the case?

Cheers
Ian