OpenELEC Forum
KNC-1 not working - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: PVR + LIVE TV (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+---- Forum: DVB-C support (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+---- Thread: KNC-1 not working (/showthread.php?tid=78837)

Pages: 1 2


KNC-1 not working - ernstjendritzki - 11-10-2015

Hi all,

I need help for using the KNC-1 with openelec, please.

Just installed openelec OpenELEC-Generic.x86_64-6.0.0.tar on my media-pc (Gigabyte AM3 MA785GMT-UD2h, KNC-1, AMD HD 5450, Aus Xonar 5.1 analog). (Before installing changed BIOS UMA to 512 MB).

Kodi is running fine, yet the tv-card is not recognízed ,SSH =>

<<
login as: root
root@192.168.178.21's password:
##############################################
# OpenELEC - The living room PC for everyone #
# ...... visit http://www.openelec.tv ...... #
##############################################

OpenELEC (official) Version: 6.0.0
OpenELEC:~ # lspci -v -m | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/eQVO
OpenELEC:~ # lsusb -v | pastebinit
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get device qualifier: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get device qualifier: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
http://sprunge.us/TMOL
OpenELEC:~ # dmesg | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/KddD
OpenELEC:~ #
OpenELEC:~ # OpenELEC:~ # lspci -v -m | pastebinit
-sh: OpenELEC:~: not found
OpenELEC:~ # http://sprunge.us/eQVO
-sh: http://sprunge.us/eQVO: not found
OpenELEC:~ #

>>

Kodi does not show TV and Radio menu-items. kodi's System-Info: PVR service is grey.

Installed the TVheadend client, getting error of lost connection.

Looked at the Linux Hardware support site, listing KNC-1.

Thanks for any help.


KNC-1 not working - gda - 11-10-2015

You wrote about the TVheadend client, but what about the TVheadend backend?

The dvb card is recognized by the kernel at least.

Gerald


KNC-1 not working - ernstjendritzki - 11-10-2015

Thanks, Gerald.
Well the backend seems not to be recognized by openelec (grey Menuitem PVR service, no menuitems for TV and Radio), or am I wrong this this?
I am unsure what the listcommand via SSH resulted in, but it looks like there is no driver for the tvcard implemented.

How you know that "The dvb card is recognized by the kernel at least."?

Is there a need to install the backend manually?

Ernst


KNC-1 not working - gda - 11-10-2015

ernstjendritzki post=151420 Wrote:Is there a need to install the backend manually?
Yes, of course, this is why I asked.

Gerald


KNC-1 not working - ernstjendritzki - 11-10-2015

OK, I did not know that....

How? (I read the website of openelec without finding any hint...)


KNC-1 not working - gda - 11-10-2015

ernstjendritzki post=151422 Wrote:How? (I read the website of openelec without finding any hint...)

I am sure it is explained very often already. Anyway, as I prefer the VDR backend and never installed tvheadend on OE I can tell you only that you can find it in
the unofficial openelec repository, because it is unsupported.

Gerald


KNC-1 not working - ernstjendritzki - 11-10-2015

You mean TVheadend is unsupported? And has to be installed from the unofficial rep?


KNC-1 not working - gda - 11-10-2015

ernstjendritzki post=151425 Wrote:You mean TVheadend is unsupported? And has to be installed from the unofficial rep?
Didn't I say this? Sorry if this was not clear, I am no native English speaker,

Gerald


KNC-1 not working - ernstjendritzki - 11-10-2015

Nor am I, Gerald. Anyway, I installed the PVR VDR backend from the official kodi rep and managed to have live tv working now. Great! Thanks a lot!


KNC-1 not working - ernstjendritzki - 11-10-2015

For the admins:

Might it be possible to add the backend installation process to the OE wiki, please? It's been rather irritating for me - finally I succeded with the kind help of Gerald.

Kind regards,
Ernst