OpenELEC Forum
Too many channels required for HD audio ? - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: AUDIO (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=53)
+--- Thread: Too many channels required for HD audio ? (/showthread.php?tid=78864)



Too many channels required for HD audio ? - sivrintear - 11-11-2015

Hello

I have been having a issue with DTS-HD and TrueHD with no sound coming through even though my amplifier supports it. I looked in my kodi log
Code:
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: Device 2
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: m_deviceName : hdmi:CARD=imxhdmisoc,DEV=0
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: m_displayName : imx-hdmi-soc
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: m_displayNameExtra: HDMI
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: m_deviceType : AE_DEVTYPE_HDMI
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: m_channels : FL,FR,BL,BR,FC,LFE
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: m_sampleRates : 32000,44100,48000,88200,96000,176400,192000
22:17:25 T:1966706688 NOTICE: m_dataFormats : AE_FMT_S24NE4,AE_FMT_S16NE,AE_FMT_S16LE,AE_FMT_LPCM,AE_FMT_DTSHD,AE_FMT_TRUEHD,AE_FMT_EAC3,AE_FMT_DTS,AE_FMT_AC3,AE_FMT_AAC

I notice that 6 channels since its a 5.1 amplifier however in the kodi wiki at [url=http://kodi.wiki/view/Audio_troubleshooting#No_HD_Audio][/url] they specify under m_channels that you must have 8 channels there eg "m_channels: FL,FR,FC,LFE,SL,SR,BL,BR". However the DTS-HD spec stats 5.1 or above.

Could this be causing my issue and surely if 8 channels are being required over 6 this is going off spec ?

Just trying to find the root cause here.