OpenELEC Forum
Device Advice Wanted - Printable Version

+- OpenELEC Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv)
+-- Forum: Generic Forum (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: MISCELLANEOUS (https://forum.openelec.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Device Advice Wanted (/showthread.php?tid=79132)

Device Advice Wanted - Peanut - 12-06-2015

Hi, and apologies if this is in the wrong section.

I have been using Plex for many years but have decided, for many reasons, to switch to Kodi. I have spent the past few days looking at dedicated "boxes" to access Kodi yet I am still scratching my head for the best option that suits my needs.

I have no interest in Android apps, I solely want a device for playing 1080p movies with 5.1 audio (some with DTS). Adversely, I don't relish the prospect of setting up the Raspberry Pi - on paper this seems like my best and cheapest option but it appears underpowered when compared to the current crop of Android TV boxes. I have also looked at the more expensive option of a Chromebox but worry about setting it up to play nicely with a remote control.

All I want is a reasonably powered, decent looking box that will run openelec for Kodi and have a fully functional remote control that operates all of Kodi's features. Is there anyone out there who can suggest the very best device for this?

I fully appreciate and gratefully thank anyone who takes the time to reply...

Device Advice Wanted - chewitt - 12-07-2015